We are having a Boy!

6 Sep

Having two girls first is something we always wanted. I was pretty sure we would eventually have three kids and I would happily have had a house full of girls. Having a third was never about wanting a boy, although I did imagine it would be a nice completion to our family and wondered if it would be possible to have a boy next.

After two miscarriages in between my girls a couple of people said to me “maybe you can’t carry boys” I found that quite upsetting, I tried to put that to the back of my mind, But the closer I got to being ready for the next baby the more I realised how much having a baby boy meant to me . 

I finally felt like my body was in perfect condition to conceive and my periods had returned after an 8 year absence. I downloaded an app to track my ovulation cycle and scoured the Internet for tips on how to conceive boys. The plan was in motion, we would wait till late 2016 to ‘officially’ try for a baby. By then, in my mind, I would have mastered the art of creating a boy.

So… As you can imagine finding out we were pregnant a few months later came as a bit of a shock. We weren’t trying to conceive although the doctor informed us we must have been ‘ trying’ as our preferred method of contraception was not the most affective 😜.  

After the initial shock, I was so hopeful for a boy. I know it might sound wrong and that we shouldn’t care what sex our baby is and as long as it’s healthy is the main priority, but having a boy meant so much to me. Mainly for the reason that when I was just 10 years old  I lost my little brother in a tragic accident. I felt that a boy would in some way bring him back to me and give me the healing I have always desired for me and my family. We told our girls mummy was having another baby and my eldest seemed to know it was boy, One day she even commented that Mummy’s Brother was in my tummy which really freaked me out. I knew I couldn’t wait until 20 weeks so I impatiently booked in for an early gender scan. 

The night before the scan, I couldn’t sleep and felt physically sick, I so wanted a boy and the suspense was killing me. As I lay on the bed with The sonographer at one side and hubby and Eivissa on the other, I held my daughters hand so tightly as she reassured me that I was having a boy, how could she know, she’s only 4 years old but she was so confident without any hesitation about what mummy was about to find out. 

The Sonographer turned to me and said “well, it’s going to need its own room” I was crying so much, I’m talking hyperventilating tears by the way,  “It’s a boy” I couldn’t believe it..



My prayers had been answered and I was so thankful and so happy that dreams can come true, our  little family is soon to be completed, in fact it’s only 10 days until the little man is due and we are so excited to meet him and watch him grow and I know for sure that he’s going to bring some healing to me. 


For now, I’m enjoying the last few days as a foursome as I’ve got a feeling that it’s going to be a busy few months ahead.

6 Responses to “We are having a Boy!”

  1. Lisa Whitley September 6, 2016 at 9:14 pm #

    Lovely news xxxx

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. loseweightlaura September 7, 2016 at 4:03 pm #

    I’ve just come across your blog and what a lovely family you are.. to see just how your family are your world and your world your family even though I don’t know you all I know you so deserve to have what you want.. a boy. My husband and I are trying to conceive our 1st at the moment and your are a really inspirational family. All the best xxx

    • heatherfrancesca October 5, 2016 at 9:50 pm #

      Thank you for reading 🙂 wishing you all the best and that it won’t be long before you are expecting. Lovely to hear from you xx

  3. Trish Edwards September 8, 2016 at 7:35 am #

    So happy you are having a wee boy x you & your family are such an inspiration x praying all goes well with the home birth, you are such a natural woman, a great mum & friend love you loads x Trish & john x c Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. educatingmummyblog September 27, 2016 at 8:19 pm #

    Aww what a lovely read. I follow you on Instagram (Mummy_raising_2) and want to congratulate you and your family. I had a little boy in May and secretly wanted a boy after having our daughter Violet who will be 5 in December. We don’t have any boys apart from my dad and Grandad so he was a real blessing. It’s wonderful 😊

Leave a Reply

