Baby gender reveal

7 Jun

For my second baby I wanted to do something a little different. I had heard about ‘baby gender reveal parties’ that had become popular in America. I watched a few youtube videos of couples finding out what sex their baby was by cutting a cake or opening a box of balloons and I thought what a brilliant idea, a perfect way to celebrate the new baby on the way.

So on the day of our 20 week scan we asked the sonographer if she would write the gender of our baby on a piece of paper and seal it in envelope so me and my husband wouldn’t see. To which she said ‘no, against policy’. Oh no!, our brilliant way to find out the sex of baby was going to be ruined. We did a lot of begging and the only alternative was to get someone we knew down to the hospital within an hour then they would be willing to tell them so they could write it in the envelope. The thing was I knew my mum and sister were away for the day. So I needed to find a friend and fast.
Our solution? Ask a stranger in the hospital reception to pretend to be my mum! After a failed attempt at that, I started praying ‘lord, send me some one who could do this for us’ well God must have heard my prayer, because at that moment in walked our good friend Tom, I couldn’t believe it. He was more than happy to do it for us, in fact he said he felt like a God parent. We now had our sealed envelope and headed straight to the balloon shop so they could fill our box with pink or blue balloons.

We asked our guests to come wearing the colour they thought the baby would be (pink for girl or blue for boy). I opted for blue whereas Danny chose pink as its always been his wish to have two little girls. We gave Eivissa the choice of a pink or a blue outfit and she picked out pink which didnt surprise me as she kept saying girl and pointing to my tummy.

Team pink or blue?
20130607-140101.jpg

20130607-130822.jpg

20130607-130746.jpg

The box was sealed and ready to be opened!

20130607-131044.jpg

The big reveal, we kept our eyes closed!

20130607-132145.jpg

20130607-141430.jpg

20130607-132251.jpg

IT’S A GIRL!!!!!
Seven pink balloons floating into the air. So happy!

20130607-141245.jpg

Tom, who already knew was wearing black, but then had pink underpants hiding underneath, Haha!
20130607-132435.jpg

More girls in the family, Yey! Me with my Mum and sister

20130607-135720.jpg

Click here to watch
<a href="http://“>

3 Responses to “Baby gender reveal”

  1. charlene mcauley June 10, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

    That is so special and something you will remember for the rest of your life.xxx

  2. Becs June 10, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

    you guys are the cutest. I’d never even heard of a gender reveal party!
    … that’s one idea to keep for the future!

  3. Trish Edwards June 13, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

    I love the way you guys think outside the box ! congratulations on having a girl love trish x

Leave a Reply

