Letter to the prime minister

14 Feb

Here’s a letter I wrote to the prime minister.

Dear Prime minister David Cameron/ Anne Milton MP

I hope you are both well and are having a great week.

I have been wanting to write you this letter for a long time but only now am I finding time to sit down and type it.

Firstly I would like to say a huge thank you for providing us with the NHS, we really are lucky to have such an excellent service, there are countries all over the world who will never have the treatment we have and we never want to take that for granted. The midwives and hospital staff we dealt with were incredible, the support and information at our disposal was so valuable and I feel it’s about time that this ‘great nation’ received some praise for the good things it is doing rather than focus on the negative.

I recently gave birth at the Leeds General Infirmary on 17th september 2011. My husband and I feel you have done a fabulous job in providing us with the best possible care from the medical profession.

When we found out I was pregnant we were over the moon, we were not entirely sure it would happen as I hadn’t had a menstrual cycle for 5 years, but we trusted in gods timing and in January 2011, I discovered I was expecting.

I was very sure on how I wanted to give birth, I wanted it to be as natural as possible and for it to be a wonderful time. I kept positive and hoped that when the time came, the midwives and hospital I chose would help me to have the experience I wanted. In my birth plan I had written I would like a water birth with little intervention, low lighting and a relaxed atmosphere. This is exactly what I got! My midwife (Jane Moor) read my plan as soon as we got there and did everything in her power to make it happen. Thank you so much for making all those options available, for giving power back to women in how they want to give birth.

Our birth was actually featured in this series of ‘One born every Minute’ on Channel 4(episode 2. 11th January), we feel proud that our special moment got captured on T.V and that we got to show the nation the amazing job the NHS does.
Since the show I have started a blog which has had an incredible amount of response, receiving over 20000 hits in the first month, I’m just glad that I get to talk about the amazing experience we had and the fantastic care we received, the only problem now is there may be a huge demand for birthing pools, hehehe!

We are eternally grateful for helping me have the experience we always dreamt of.

Thank you to my midwife, Alison McGowan, to the Leeds general infirmary and all it’s wonderful staff and to government that makes the NHS what it is.

Thank you

Heather Francesca
Www.heatherfrancesca.wordpress.com
Twitter; heatherfrancesc

Leave a Reply

