Loving you and your body!

15 Jan

Your body, its a big subject for us girls! We all talk about it and many of us think about it and im sure at times we have had issues with it. It is always nice to feel confident in yourself, i know first hand the constant battle between your mind and body.

Growing up, I never had issues with my body, I could eat what I liked and not
worry about it, I never understood why anyone would read the diet pages in
magazines or why exercise could consume someone’s life, to me, this seemed bizarre until one day my life became just that!

20120115-175154.jpg
Me as a care free kid!

I started training about 7 years ago, my aim was to tone up, get fitter and nothing else. At that time I was comfortable in my skin, comfortable in who I was and secure in my mind.
After a few sessions i noticed my body gaining muscle and i started to feel much bigger, which was never my intention. I trusted my trainers routine so I
assumed that it must be my diet that needed to be more strict, as the weeks went by I found myself training harder and being super strict with diet, yet I continued to build more muscle, my whole life became about my new routine of training and eating, I soon found myself in a downwards spiral heading towards this person I never thought would exist, I felt so alone, so ashamed of what I had done to myself, I became insecure, I hated my body and I hated anyone else seeing it. it didn’t take me too long to realize that I had an unhealthy relationship with food and that I was heading towards an eating disorder, it was also at this point that my periods stopped.

As the months went by I realized this was a mind issue. I had to learn to love myself again, to see what my husband saw in me. I thought to myself that
when I get to the other side, I’m going to use my experience to encourage women to love themselves for who they are and to teach them that beauty comes from inner confidence, and once they find this inner beauty then their outer beauty will shine.

I remember a trip to America and that’s when the penny dropped, I thought to
myself that this is not ‘me’, where is that little girl gone that never thought about these things? I needed to take control, i knew i had a problem but the solution to fixing it seemed to difficult to face, i was determined to go back to my old self and by taking control I was confident in going back to the old me.

Fast forward a few years later and thankfully I had managed to become ‘me’ again. With a lot of encouragement from my husband and close friends I became free from the burden of watching what I ate and constantly thinking about my body. I felt healthy, full of life and proud of the new me.

It was at this point that Danny and I decided to start a family, the only problem being that my periods had yet to return, i knew my state of mind was good and my insecurities had gone, i just had to get my body lined up with my mind, thankfully we managed to concieve and I was determined that my little girl would never have to deal with the problems i had, we were going to do everything in our power to make sure she feels beautiful and loved and grow up with so much confidence. i was detemined that she was going to feel beautiful, so much so that we gave her the middle name ‘cali’ which means ‘most beautiful’

20120115-173337.jpg
My beautiful Eivissa Cali

When I found out I was pregnant, i was so happy with who i was, i was willing to accept the natural change that my body was going to go through in the next 9 months, rather than get myself down about the weight i was going to gain, i decided to embrace it and accept that the extra fat was for my baby, to protect her and give her the nutrients she needs when breastfeeding, this doesnt mean we have an excuse to ‘eat for two’, by keeping a healthy balanced diet we are looking after ourselves and our babies

In an earlier blog ‘how to dress your pregnant tummy,’ i talk about being ‘house proud,’ this means to love the body you have been given and be proud of it, when you love your homes, you respect them and
take care of them. We should do the same with our bodies.

If we women can learn to love ourselves, then that transmits to others, i can always tell a confident person, by the way they walk and hold their head, you dont need to have model looks and a size 8 body to look good, you can be whatever size suits you, so long as you look after yourself and feel confident then there should be no stopping you, love you for you!!

ive had a few people ask about looking after your body during pregnancy and getting your figure back after.

here are some tips
during pregnancy

*stretch mark oil is amazing, i went through bottles of it.
*don’t over eat, you only need an extra 200 calories per day (the equivalent of 3 apples)
*stay active, if your up to it. i was teaching dance classes at 8 months

To help get your figure back
*breast feeding is great for baby and for you.This is quickest way to get your body back. You can burn up to 500 calories a day!
*go for walks with the push chair or with baby in a carrier
* most important love and stay true to yourself

20120115-174832.jpg
Me and Danny 3 months after Eivissa was born

2 Responses to “Loving you and your body!”

  1. Steff November 4, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    I’m 18 and not a mother, but love reading about your little family after seeing you on OBEM – Your labour is one that I would love to have when I have children.

    An unhealthy relationship with food is something I’ve been struggling with since I was 13, I haven’t developed an eating disorder, but since I started getting more fat on my stomach I’ve hated the way I look, so I found myself only eating when forced too, and getting depressed because of how much I hated myself. – The last year I’ve finally been able to develop a better relationship with food and I’m trying to get back the confidence I had before it began. I just love how positive you are no matter what, and reading his particular article actually makes me feel that little bit more confident in myself, and shows me that there are some women who don’t judge people by their looks so thank you for writing this 🙂 xx

    • heatherfrancesca November 5, 2012 at 12:14 am #

      Hi steff
      Thankyou so much for your message. It really means a lot to hear that my experiences in life, good and bad can help people. Keep believing you are beautiful. Once you feel it inside, it shows on the outside too. Feeling bad about your self robs you of so much joy and happiness.

      Thank you for keeping me motivated to write more and reminding me of why I started my blog.

      Have a great week and Remember you are beautiful!
      All the best
      Heather Francesca xxx

Leave a Reply

